Advising and Contact Information

For more information regarding the Rice Economics Undergraduate Program, please contact:

Starting March 23, 2020, advising hours will be held on Zoom. Please see URL below for each professor’s office hours.

Undergraduate Program Coordinator 

Joan Guthrie
Kraft Hall 408
713-348-4381
EconUnderGrad@rice.edu


Transfer Credit Advisor
Michele Biavati
Kraft Hall 420 
713-348-2354
michele.biavati@rice.edu

 

Advising Office Hours
Monday
11:00am–12:00pm — Nina Bobkova
Tuesday
2:00–3:00pm — Peter Hartley
Wednesday
4:00–5:00pm — James Brown
Thursday
1:00–2:00pm — Maria Bejan
Friday
10:00–11:00am — Mahmoud El-Gamal

Rice Economics Department Undergraduate Committee:

Nina BobkovaMajor Advisor
Nina Bobkova
Kraft Hall 416
(713) 348-5792
nina.bobkova@rice.edu
Office Hours: Monday 11:00am–12:00pm
Zoom Office Hours Link

Peter Hartley Rice EconomicsMajor Advisor
Peter Hartley
Kraft Hall 413
(713) 348-2534
hartley@rice.edu
Office Hours: Tuesday 2:00–3:00pm
Zoom Office Hours Link

James Brown Rice Economics ProfessorMajor Advisor
James Brown
Baker Hall 433
(713) 348-3343
jbrown@rice.edu
Office Hours: Wednesday 4:00–5:00pm
Zoom Office Hours Link

Major Advisor
Maria Bejan
Kraft Hall 426
(713) 348-3532
maria.bejan@rice.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 1:00–2:00pm 
Zoom Office Hours Link

Mahmoud El-Gamal

Major Advisor & Undergraduate Director
Mahmoud El-Gamal
Kraft Hall 429
(713) 348-6301
elgamal@rice.edu
Office Hours: Friday 10:00–11:00am
Zoom Office Hours Link